Poinsettia Tag

https://sunnyfae.wordpress.com/2014/02/04/poinsettia-tag/Hi there. Hows it going?  Just found out I have pictures out there on pinterest! Fasinating. Glad I put my name on the pictures now so people can find me hehe.

I’ve also spotted little numbers saying people have been and liked some of the stuff I’ve made. Sorry I’m not savvy enough to find you so I’ll just say here thanks for coming by, please visit again and maybe say hi.

Back to my little tag. This one was made mostly with bits and pieces I had lying around. That is all except the shiny new poinsettia and leaf dies.

Sometimes I use tags for mopping up and cleaning stamps between colours. It saves the waste on ink and the results can be quite interesting.

This is one of those tags. The stamping wasn’t clear enough to be used on it’s own so I over stamped with some embossing ink and heat embossed some powder onto it. the colour I’m told is gold but it’s not a very shiny gold, even so it works so I went with it. I like how the colour in the background shadows the embossing.

The leaves were cut, inked and embossed in an embossing folder. It gives them a nice surface texture.

The poinsettia was cut three times out of a red envelope, inked around the edge with black ink. I used a stylised dandelion stamp for the embossing in the middle. It’s great for adding detail to any small flowers.

Everything was curled up and stuck down along with a couple of small gold flourishes. A tiny piece of ribbon and a little bell (came off a Christmas cracker)

Think this is definitely a Christmas tag, my first one this year! I’m going to start a little box and fill it up over the year so I’m not running around at the last minute trying to get everything finished.

Bye for now.

Inks used:
Distress Ink – Random colours plus Black Soot
Embossing pad – Clear
Stamps used:
Chocolate Baroque  –  Wisteria Lane  (Dandelion)
Chocolate Baroque – Fantasy Floral (Discontinued)
Dies used:
Sizzix Bigz Die – Tags #3
Sizzix Movers and Shapers – Mini Tattered Leaves
Sizzix Movers and Shapers – Mini Cardinal & Poinsettia
SpellbindersVenetian Accents (The ends of the little mask)
Embossing Folder:
Sizzix Texture Fades  – Textured Leaves Set

2 thoughts on “Poinsettia Tag

Leave a Reply

