Little Bird

Hi there. Hows every one doing?https://sunnyfae.wordpress.com/2014/05/17/little-bird/

Good grief is all I can say. Flicker is still nasty. Took nearly an hour to work out how to insert a picture! Course if I posted more often maybe I’d have it by now but still. Good grief any way!

I bought a new stamp set recently and wanted to try them out. Yes I know I don’t need any more but the birds were so cute. (I have no resistance at all)

I splashed some watercolour onto some fo my homade tags for a background and stamped the birds out in black ink.

The humming birds were coloured with pencils. I like the way they blend and it gives a nice sheen.

bird 1The other birds were coloured with sharpies and a blender pen. I had read that Sharpies could be used like pro markers (other alcohol markers are available). To be honest they dont give the same effect (at least when I use them) but surprisingly I do like the way it looks.

I found the best way to do it is scribble the pen out onto a ceramic or glass tile and pick the colour up with the blender and when it runs outpick up some more colour. Three were a few colour bleeds here and there where I had over used the blender but it’s fine as it sort of fits in with the background.bird

Once I’d finished playing I was left with a lot of birdy tags and thought it would be nice to try something a bit different. So I splashed some more watercolour paint about, cut the tags into circles and glued them down onto two pages of my home made sketch books.

The flowers and blossoms were also in the stamp set and they were stamped to fit in with the existing flowers around the birds.so I made a kind of journal page with them.
I’m really pleased with the way it turned out and I’ll probably have another go at this.

Here’s hoping every one has a pleasant weekend in the summer sun.

Inks used:
Momento – Tuxedo Black
Dies used:
Spellbinders NestabilitiesCircles
Stamps used:
Kanban Birds of Paradise

 

 

Leave a Reply

