Poinsettia Gift Topper

Xmas Bow

Hello. I hope everyone is well rested and having a happy New Year.

Instead of putting the usual shiny bows on this years gifts I decided to make something a little different. I have lots of very good card lying around but gift toppers are fleeting and once used are destined for the rubbish so I decided to raid the recycle bin and found some old packaging to fit my needs.

I used a die to cut out some poinsettias out in varying sizes and ran the shapes through an embossing folder. There were a few issues. The white card was only coated on one side and after embossing became a little fragile. The problem was fixed by painting a little PVA glue onto the back and letting it dry. The PVA made them a lot stronger and easier to mould into shape at the end.

With some leaf dies cut leaves out of silver card left over from another project and embossed them with the same folder. This is my favourite embossing folder, it can be used so many ways, for male or female items and always adds just the right amount of texture.

To assemble I used small circles cut from various boxes. Spread out the leaves then from the biggest to smallest poinsettia bending and manipulating them as I went. A small gem in the centre to finish.

I’m really pleased with the way they turned out and for almost no money too. I’m also pleased with the photo, sometimes the lighting is off and everything is dull and lifeless but for the first time it all worked beautifully. I know I shouldn’t be patting myself on the back but it just makes me so happy.

Till next time take care and have fun.

 

Inks used:
Distress Ink – Broken China
Dies used:
Sizzix Movers and Shapers Mini Tattered Leaves Set
Sizzix Bigz Die – Tattered Poinsettia
Embossing Folder used:
Craft Concepts – Budding vine

One thought on “Poinsettia Gift Topper

Leave a Reply

