Whoot Loves You

Sil OwlsHi. How are you?

Today is Valentines Day. I made a card. It’s not red or heart’sy because well, you know, you can have too much of a good thing. Can’t you?

The idea isn’t that new but I wanted to do my own version. If I just copy everyone else I don’t really learn anything from the process and I like to try to do similar things with the stuff I already have.

It is stamped with a large leafy stamp because I wanted it to look like they were sitting on the branches of a tree looking at the moon.

The stamp is 5 1/2″ square and didn’t go down to the bottom of the card so I left a small gap for the sentiment and stamped it again. It leaves a nice ribbon of green without using any actual ribbon.

It was heat embossed in green embossing powder. The powder is slightly translucent and contains some mica. I don’t know the real colour because the packet I bought it in was unmarked. (so cheap that’s why I bought it) The sentiment was stamped and embossed in copper.

I used a circle cutter to cut the aperture and went just up to but not over the leaves then trimmed around the leaves with a craft knife.Sil Owls Peep

The two little owl silhouettes owls were also stamped and embossed with copper powder. I wanted the silhouettes on the front so turned them around and faced them in towards the moon. You can see them here peeping through the aperture bathed in the golden glow of the moon aww.

The moon is a copy paper insert with a circle dusted in place of the moon. My photo’s of this failed as it was too pale but it looked good trust me. ha!

After sticking my little owls down I realised I’d been a bit heavy handed with the glue and cut out some leaves from the waste in the circle and placed them around the owls. Happy accident because that is now my favourite part.

This is as near to a one layer card as I’ve been for a long time and I didn’t even muff it up! Well not too much any way.

That’s it from me today. Thanks for stopping by, till next time have fun x,

Inks used:
Embossing pad – Clear
Stamps used:
Chocolate Baroque – Leafy Trails
Free Stamp From Mag – Woodware Stamp Set (leaves &Owl?)
Free Stamp From Mag – Crafters Companion (sentiment)

 

One thought on “Whoot Loves You

Leave a Reply

