Birthday Bugs

Birthday BugsHello. How’s it all going. The sun is shining and all is right with the world. Then it rained. Everything is still ok, just wetter.

I was looking through my stash for something to make for a boys card. It’s hard to know which way to go for boys. You don’t want to be too cutesy and you try not to be too boring.

I found my steampunkery stamps and thought mmm, I love the stamps the way they are but really I just wanted to use the wings.

The flying “bugs” were made by stamping about five times onto coloured card, cut them out and trim between each feather to give a little more movement. The bottom of the green set were cut off and were large enough to be placed between the other set of wings.

Happy Birthday was stamped out onto two circles of card and a narrow frame of card placed on top. It was then filled in with glossy accents.

The clouds were made with the outer layers of Sue Wilson’s Gemini Dies – Lyra. When you cut them together without the inside flourish they look like stylised clouds.

The background is something made up in Photoshop with various squiggle brushes. I just wanted something simple and random.

I’ve used the beetle stamp so many times (for examples see here and here ) it’s always nice to find different uses and styles for them. Even though it’s a steam punky set I don’t always want to be stuck using dark colours, I like that this card has a light and airy feel about it.

That’s me for today. Thanks taking the time and stopping by. Till next time, have fun x.

Inks used:
Memento – Tuxedo Black
Stamps used:
Steampunkery – Chocolate Baroque
Happy Birthday – Free From Magazine
Dies Used:
Sue Wilson’s Gemini Dies – Lyra
Spelbinders – Nested Circles

Leave a Reply

