Sharpie Background Techniques

Green Yellow Tags

Blue and purple tags made with sharpies

A simple way to make backgrounds with sharpie pens

Hi. How are you? The eye-sight debacle has been sorted and finally I can now see what I’m doing, Whoot!

I have been looking at my stuff and trying to make something different out off what I already have.

You see I kind of made a deal with my daughter, that we would use up all the stuff we have, before we buy anything new, because we have lots of stuff.

Truth is I’m rubbish at this, she is sticking to it, mostly but I just can’t help myself. There may at some point have to be an intervention.

So I try. I look at my stuff and try to do something new with it.

I found a lot of sharpies, the coloured kind and tags with a glossy coating made from left over packaging. I wanted to see if I could make some backgrounds with them.

I tried scribbling and blending directly onto the card, the results were not good. The ink dried on the card too quickly and didn’t blend out.

Plan two. I scribbled two or three colours onto a glass mat, dripped surgical spirit on top allowing the inks to blend into each other then quickly press the card into the ink. It’s a bit like using distress ink only smellier and permanent.

The patterns are random and unrepeatable but are lovely to look at.

This has given me the inspiration to try this with other inks and paints. It will be interesting to see what effects I can get.

That’s all for now. Thanks for stopping by, till next time, have fun x

Leave a Reply

