Bottling Apple Sauce And Other Preserves

apple sauce and quinceLast week I made jams, and jellies. This week I’m bottling some apple sauce.

There is no sugar or preserving agent to stop bacteria forming so the point of bottling them is to kill off any bacteria and sterilize the fruit inside. This will hopefully prevent them to spoiling for a longer time. I haven’t tried this before so it all feels a bit experimental.

It was a lot easier than I thought. I had most of the tools already but the one thing I will be buying next time I do this is jar tongs. The jars are really hot when you take them out of the water. I used a thick pair of rubber gloves and just managed but the right tools for the right job me thinks. Save any future accidents from happening.

I normally use these two books for my preserving:
The Basic Basics Jams, Preserves and Chutneys by Marguerite Patten
And Preserves: River Cottage Handbook No.2 by Pam Corbin
Between them they have plenty of information and recipes to keep me going for a good long time.

On this particular day it was Pam Corbin’s book I used and inside is a recipe for herb flavoured jellies. I didn’t make jelly because although the fruit wouldn’t be wasted (it would be used in something else) I didn’t feel like waiting for the fruit to strain.

I decided I would cook the apple skins (just the good ones) and blend them up just to see what happens. It turned into a thickish apple sauce so I used this along with some actual apple, added the herbs and followed the recipe from where the fruit pulp is measured.

I haven’t tried these out on the family yet so only made a small batch (two small jars) just to see how they go.

There will probably be more things to make but for now that’s enough. I now have to find somewhere to put all of these jars!

Thanks for stopping by and taking time to read my ramblins. Till next time. have fun. x

Leave a Reply

