Sketching Crows

Sketched-Crows

Hello, how are you.

I have been doing quite a bit of sketching lately and I’m slowly filling up the pages of my new sketch book.

This year my daughter and I bought year passes for the zoo. We’ve been quite a few times, taken lots of photo’s and tried to sketch the animals we’ve seen. I find this incredibly hard to do at the moment, sketching in public when most of the drawings aren’t very good but I suppose I’ll get used to it and the practice is good for me.

There are a lot of crows around the zoo, I really like them so we have a lot of pictures of crows, so I decided to try to draw them from the pictures we had taken. They turned out better than I thought they would.

Some crows have blue eyes and some have black eyes, I’m not sure if this is the way the light shines on them or maybe, just like people they have different coloured eyes. This is something I wouldn’t have even thought about if I hadn’t been drawing them. That’s what I like about drawing, it helps me see things I wouldn’t have even thought about before.

They are all painted in shades of blue and purple. I’ve tried painting them in black but they looked very dull, lifeless and grayed out. Crows do have a blue purple iridescence to them but I still need to learn how to make a decent black out of the colours I have.

That’s it for now.
Thanks for stopping by. Till next time, take care and have fun x

5 thoughts on “Sketching Crows

Leave a Reply

