Watercolour Fathers Day Card

Hi there. Happy Fathers Day. Hope all the dads are having a very relaxing day.

scrim+cling-experiment

This week at watercolour class we were being experimental. It was a sploshy technique involving cling film and scrim. Scrim is a very loose weave fabric found in the building trade, though any loose weave fabric would do.

I pulled out threads and distressed the scrim. Cling film was also used on this page just to see what would happen.

I made a wash of watercolour and dabbed it all over the scrim and the rest of the page, then laid cling film over the rest of the page and scrunched it up slightly to make the texture. It was put aside to dry for a couple of days.

Once I had my lovely new texture, what to do with it? We were supposed to see some kind of image or pattern in them but I’m rubbish at that and after staring at it for what seemed forever decided it would be used as patterned paper.

I learned something new and even though I’m not sure I’ll use it too much in the future, should I need this type of effect, I know how to create it.

This is the card I used it on. “Happy Fathers Day dear”.

Watercolour Fathers Day Card

The watercolour paper was used as a background for my dragon stamp. He was stamped onto a separate piece of orange watercolour paper (one of the experiments that didn’t work) with black versafine ink and heat embossed with copper coloured powder. I cut him out and glued him down. Since he was snoozing I used die-cut letters to spell RELAX… (inside it says put your feet up and have a good day).

The other half said it looked pretty cool so job done I think.

Thanks for taking the tie to stop by today. Till next time, have fun x

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

