Blue Lily Watercolour Card

blue-lily-watercolour-card

Hello, how are you?

It was our wedding anniversary this week and my lovely other half bought me some lilies. They’re beautiful, blue (probably dyed) and the buds are nearly all opened now. The sad news was that after two days of them being in the house his eyes were streaming and he couldn’t breath! They had triggered a fierce bout of hay fever. Guess who won’t ever be getting any more lilies?

To make the most of them I’ve been taking lots of photo’s  as they open and keeping them well out of my poor other half’s way as much as I can.

I made an attempt at doing a watercolour, just to see if I could. It’s not brilliant but it did make quite a nice birthday card. It’s painted onto watercolour paper and some how dropped the paint brush on the paper so I die-cut it to get rid of the splodges.

It looked a bit washed out when I held it against the card so I cut the same shape out of the centre of a failed watercolour experiment left over from watercolour class to use as a frame. I liked the contrasting colour and it evened out the front of the card.

 

blue-lilies

This is a photograph I took of the offending lilies. They really are beautiful but I think he will be sticking to less pollinated flowers in future.

Thanks for stopping by. Till next time, have fun x

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

