Rockhoppers, Frogs And More Inktober

reptile-house

Frogs and a lizard drawn in the reptile house.

Hi there. How is every one?

There has been much arting at out house this week. The sketchbook skool class continues. I’ve picked up new tips and played with old supplies.

We were supposed to go outside, somewhere public and draw something. Since we go to the zoo a lot I decided to do my exercise there. Unfortunately it rained so we nipped into the reptile house (still public right?) to draw frogs and lizards.

The man giving a talk on frogs complemented us on our drawing which was very nice of him. Usually my drawing of live beings is pretty bad but frogs etc. don’t tend to move around too much so it didn’t turn out too bad.

#inktober-11-14

Inktober 11 – 14

Inktober is still a thing, both my daughter and I are still doing it but finding ideas is sometimes hard. I’ve taken a snapshot of my Instagram to show here and if any ones interested they can check them all out here.

rockhopper-penguins

Rockhopper penguin sketch

I was frantically searching for something to do for Inktober #12 and thought “penguins” mainly because they were black and white.

I found some pictures of Rockhopper penguins; their shaggy eyebrows and the scraggy feathers sticking out of their heads are brilliant. I sketched some out in my sketchbook to get a feel for them, and then did a small penguin in my Inktober book.

It’s a small A6 sized Windsor and Newton sketchbook, the pages aren’t that good for fine lines and ink work, the ink feathers and absorbs into the page but it’s one of the few books I have that the ink doesn’t soak through to the other side of the page.

This week has been a busy week, we’ve had birthdays and visiting and lots of arting. I’m really happy I managed to fit everything in.

Thank you for stopping by. I wish you all a happy week. Till next time, have fun x

Save

Leave a Reply

