Skools Out And Some Birthday Cards

kitchen-drawing

A drawing of my kitchen for sketchbook Skool class.

Hi there. How are you?

This was the last week of sketchbook skool klass. The delightful Tommy Kane showed us its all in the details. If you look at his work you can see the amazingly detailed illustrations he draws that sometimes take him hours. Hours of standing/sitting around on location working busily away.

This is a picture I drew of part of my kitchen, not nearly as detailed as his but I liked the way it turned out. The paper isn’t good for watercolour so I used inktense pencils and put just a light wash of water over the top. I like the texture it gives against the tooth of the paper.

pomegranate-drawing

A drawing of a pomegranate just before we ate it for dessert.

I was making a dessert and cut open a pomegranate, spurred on by my kitchen drawing I decided to have a go at drawing it in detail, seed by seed. It came out quite well. Not something I would have thought to do till now.

This class seems to have come and gone in a heartbeat, I’ve learned a lot, now I have to put all this new-found knowledge into practice. I’ll probably go back and look at some of the videos again to keep it all fresh in my mind.

The information was geared mainly to people who keep (or want to keep) journals but it is all good information and can be used for all forms of drawing, and who knows maybe I’ll do that one day.

racoon-birthday-card

A watercolour card painted mainly in two colours (Payne’s grey and burnt umber)

I’ve bee making birthday cards. This one was a picture of a racoon (picture from a google search**) painted in watercolour, I even used watercolour paper! I wanted it to be kind of washy with not too many colours, I used Payne’s gray and burnt umber with a tiny bit of orange or the eyes. It’s not perfect but he’s kind of cute.

(** Disclaimer:  I’d link to the photographer of the racoon but couldn’t find a name. I’m not linking to the site because I don’t think it belongs to them. If I find out who took the picture I’ll update with a link.)

autumn-leaves-happy-birthday

Autumn leaves birthday card.

This one is made with a stamp and dies from crafters companion magazine set. I like that the dies match the stamps, the leaves are small enough for a background and big enough to use in their own right.

The patterned paper was made with a piece of white card blended and stamped with distress ink. The extra leaves are gold card; craft card and the black background are stamped with embossing ink and heat embossed with clear powder.

Thanks for stopping by. Till next time take care and as always, have fun x

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

