Purple Ivy

purple ivy in my sketch book

A photo taken of both the sketch and the real ivy.

Hi there, how are you?

This week on a walk to the local library I stumbled upon some interesting ivy. It wasn’t green like usual ivy, it was  a very dark purple. On the way back home  I decided to take a small stalk and one of the bigger leaves off the plant home with me to investigate further.

purple-ivy-2

A watercolour sketch of the stalk and of a slightly bigger leaf.

The purple ivy has green veins and the rest of the leaf is a very dark purple. I’ve tried to make this colour before and failed so this would be a challenge.

Most attempts to replicate this colour turned into a muddy brown but eventually I discovered perylene green (a single pigment colour green) when mixed with quinacridone magenta (another single pigment colour) come pretty close to the colour I wanted.

I think most ready-made greens are made up from some sort of yellow and blue so together with the red you can’t help but make brown.

purple-ivy-leaf

This leaf is more stylised, the veins are made by pushing the paint around with my finger.

I was trying to find an easier way to paint the veins and found if I put a little purple down and immediately pushed it with my finger it moved in streaks a short way across the leaf. It’s not very realistic but I do like the effect.

Thanks for stopping by today. til next time, have fun x

4 thoughts on “Purple Ivy

  1. irisgassenbauer says:

    You did a very good job! I never thought about the fact, that I have purple and “normal” green ivy in the park that I pass through every morning. Thank you for making me aware of it! I love how gentle your drawings are, there is much talent involved!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

