More Negative Painting

blossom 1 negative painting

First blossoms picked out with negative painting.

Hi there, how are you?

I’ve been playing around with negative painting again. Like last week I used the book watercolour: painting outside the lines by Linda Kemp. In her exercise she just placed a wet into wet wash of colour onto some paper and allowed it to dry. Maybe Linda Kemp had some idea what she wanted as an end result. She found some berries and made It look really good.

I put my colours down (I kept it to two colours trying to keep it simple) and waited. I couldn’t see berries; I am terrible at this kind of thing and after a lot of staring into the paper decided on flowers (blossom). The idea is to use negative painting to pick out the thing you see.

blossom 2 negative painting

Second blossoms picked out with negative painting.

It sort of worked, probably need o do more of this to grasp what’s going on but for a first try I think it’s ok.

Below are the dried washes I started off with. If you squint really hard maybe you can see the flowers?

wet in to wet background 1

First attempt at a wet in to wet background

wet in to wet background 2

Second attempt at a wet in to wet background

The test is trying to use this technique in a real painting.

Thanks for stopping by today. Till next time, have fun x

Leave a Reply

