Sketching Aquilegia (Columbine),

Aquilegia (Columbine) black brush pen

Aquilegia (Columbine) drawn with a pentel brush pen to try and work out the shapes

Hello there, how are you.

This week I’ve been out in the garden trying to work out how to draw Aquilegia flowers (sometimes known as columbine).

Aquilegia (Columbine) Flower

This is a photo of the Aquilegia flowers I’ve been trying to draw.

Aquilegia (Columbine) sketch 1

some worked out better than others as you can see.

As usual I’ve tried various medium to work out the shapes, pencil, watercolour, pentel brush pen even biro. I do this because for some reason each tool makes me draw and even think in a slightly different way. The brush pen in particular makes me work mainly with the shapes, a paint brush also helps to see the shapes but then I also get lost in colour too.

Aquilegia (Columbine) Sketches 2

I’m not really trying to draw whole plants at the moment the flowers are enough to work on.  I have to say all these inny and outty petals really are giving my little gray cells a workout.

Thanks for stopping by today, till next time, have fun x

4 thoughts on “Sketching Aquilegia (Columbine),

Leave a Reply

