Sketching Wild Poppies

Sketching poppies 1

Sketching wild poppies.

Hi there, hope you’re well.

There are wild poppies every where at the moment. I love it when that happens, little pops of bright red in the hedge rows, the verges and any bit of unloved bit of soil. It makes me feel like summers almost here. We did have sun last week some time but now we have wind and rain (welcome to the UK).

I didn’t want to sit out in the rain drawing them so I went out with my little camera to take some pictures before the petals all blew away!

Sketching poppies 2

Trying to capture the way the petals move in the breeze

Sketching poppies 3

The poppies on the right are a brighter red than the others. I read that putting a thin wash of yellow under the red brings out the colour. It worked they do seem a lot redder.

Sketching poppies 4

Wild poppies with their tissue paper petals fluttering in the breeze are so delicate on their thin hairy stems.

As you can see some worked out better than others, some got away from me but over all, most do look like poppies so no complaints here.

I have a few poppies in my garden almost ready to flower, they are pink oriental poppies. I’m hopping they wait till the sun comes back so I can sit in the garden and take my time drawing them.

Thanks for stopping by. Till next time, have fun x

Leave a Reply

