Painting Pink Oriental Poppies In The Garden

2 watercolour pink poppies

Hi there, how are you?

The pink poppies have opened finally. They don’t last long so you have to be fast.

These are oriental poppies they seed themselves about the garden every year. Sometimes we get loads some times not so many.

2 watercolour pink poppies

For some reason I’m not sure why, the scanner changed the colour on some of them, in my sketch book they all look a similar colour. They are actually a pale mauve (lilac) with burgundy spots at the base of the petals

3 waterclolur pink poppies

It looks like we had loads of poppies but really there were only two at the moment, I just moved around them on my little stool to get a different view.

oriental poppies with brush pen

I drew these with the brush pen, sometimes when I use a pencil I start to get bogged down in the details and spend my time rubbing out. With a brush pen the line goes down and that’s it, no rubbing out, just have to live with the marks I make.

Thanks for stopping by today. Till next time, have fun x.

6 thoughts on “Painting Pink Oriental Poppies In The Garden

Leave a Reply

