Finding A Tulip Tree

tulip tree flower sketch

A sketch of tulip tree flowers I had found on the ground and taken home to study.

Hi there, how are you?

We were out walking in the park this week and as I looked up into the trees, there it was. I hadn’t seen it before, even though we’d passed the tree a hundred times before.

It is a flower from a tulip tree.  I didn’t even know there were tulip trees so that was a surprise.

I picked up a couple of flowers that had fallen on the floor like the magpie I am, so I could study them a little better and took a few photos on my ipod so I could sketch them later.

tulip tree flower photo side

A tulip tree flower from the side

tulip tree flower photo front

A tulip tree flower pictured from the front

In other news it’s July, and that see’s the start of world watercolour month details here.
there are prompts if you like to use them and there is a charity to support The Dreaming Zebra Foundation. you can find all details on the Doodlewash site

“Don’t miss World Watercolor Month 2017 in July as artists around the globe come together for the ultimate watercolor celebration! 31 Watercolors is 31 Days! Just use the hashtag #worldWatercolorMonth” (from the Doodlewash site)

#worldwatercolormonth Day 1

#worldwatercolormonth Day 1 Starting small, a little watercolour daisy. painting any white flowers is always tricky. more practice needed.

 

I’m thinking I might try it and see how it goes. Hopefully painting in watercolour on watercolour paper every day for a whole month will give me lots of practice (that’s good for me right?)
So here I go, Happy world watercolour month.

Thanks for taking the time to stop by. Till next time, have fun x

 

Leave a Reply

