Drawing Flowers

fallen poppy

This little poppy had fallen in the wind but it was hanging on as best as it could.

Hi there, how are you?

We still have some poppies in the garden at the moment. I actually planted whole swathes of wild flowers this year hoping for a lovely garden full of colour. The slugs thanked me for the feast by eating them as they came through!

I still have a few poppy plants left so I decided to draw some of the flowers to celebrate their dedication and perseverance he he.

I’ve drawn the first one with a pentel brush pen with my right hand (things are improving) it’s loosely coloured in with watercolour.

tall thin poppies

This one is me just flicking paint onto the page with a brush. The one on the left was a bit wind-blown and did really look like that.

daisy line drawing

We saw some tall wild daisies on a walk down a country lane.

I love the simplicity of daisies but can be difficult to work out all the petals sometimes. I didn’t colour them in because they were drawn with a fountain pen and the ink runs with water.

I like to draw with pens because it stops me getting too fussy. If I start outlining things in pencil first I seem to spent most of my time rubbing out and trying to perfect things, with a pen the line is down and I just have to move on.

I’ve been using the brush pen quite a bit lately. The lines seem to flow beautifully and can produce a lovely variety of lines.

Thanks for stopping by today. Till next time, have fun x

 

6 thoughts on “Drawing Flowers

Leave a Reply

