#Inktober 2017 16 – 22 Trying To Vary The Lines

#inktober 2017 16-22

#inktober 2017 numbers 16-22 indian ink and dip pen.

Hello folks, how are you?

It’s week three of inktober, still sticking with the prompts, and good grief some of them are challenging.

Prompt and Interpretations
Day 16 fat – a caterpillar
Day 17 graceful – swan
Day 18 filthy – muddy boots
Day 19 cloud – stylized cloud
Day 20 deep – bunnies’ deep underground
Day 21 furious – bulls head
Day 22 trail – snail plus trail

There are always one or two each week that I’m not fussed with, either the prompt didn’t excite me or the picture didn’t come out as well as I wanted it to. On these days I have to look back at what I had intended the goal for this month to be. Then I do the picture post it up on instagram regardless of how much I like it, otherwise I’ll drive myself crazy with inner critic issues and nothing will get done!

I had decided I would use my dip pens and ink, these are not tools I’m very familiar with but since I have them I wanted to try to learn how to use them. Normally I draw something in my sketch book and use a brush pen for the lines, then when I’m happy with it transfer the image lightly in pencil to the book I’m keeping all the inktober’s in. They are then inked with Indian ink and a dip pen.

#inktober day 22 trail

Drawn with a pencil. lined with a dip pen and indian ink. Click this picture to view on instagram.

You can see the difference in lines between the brush pen and dip pen in these two snails here, I am getting some variance in line now with a dip pen, it’s not brilliant but it is better, I still prefer the brush pen at the moment.

snail trail sketch

Drawn with a pencil, lined with a brush pen and coloured with watercolour

There’s a little over a week to go now so hopefully we’ll make it through (inspiredtangle and I are doing inktober together)

Thanks for stopping by today. Till next time, have fun x

7 thoughts on “#Inktober 2017 16 – 22 Trying To Vary The Lines

  1. kimbidraws says:

    These are really cool. I have also had to post stuff that I wasn’t pleased with. You are so right tho, if i listed to my inner critic I would have given up! Haven’t done all the days as I wanted to but my effort this year is still way better than last year!.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

