Iris Studies

iris in water soluable oiliris in water soluble oil

Hi there, how are you?

It’s been a while, we’ve been having interesting times here.

Every month we visit our aged relative who lives roughly 200 miles away, to fill up the cupboards and freezer with food, talk to carers, nurses and the like and generally make sure everything is working as it should.

This time I “decided” to trip over my own feet and whack my head on the train platform floor.

Don’t worry I’m fine, the lovely first aider patched me up and apart from some bent glasses and the beautiful black eye I sported for about a week after no real harm was done.

Whilst there I realised Renee Mueller was selling her floret class half price and couldn’t resist buying it.

I’m only a few exercises through it at the moment but I’m really enjoying it.

Renee is using peonies and though I love them they’re not in the shops just yet here and after perusing the flowers at the supermarket came away with a lovely bunch of iris’s reduced to £1!

She starts by taking lots of fancy photos of her flowers on lots of lovely painted backgrounds, something I’ve never thought to do before.

I don’t have many painted backgrounds so just used coloured paper instead.

There’s lots of sketching Renee uses charcoal but I cant deal with the mess so I’ve made a few very loose pencil and watercolour sketches and also this next one drawn with a purple biro.

This makes me want to find all of the other coloured ball point pens in the house to have a play.

iris in purple biro
iris in purple biro

This is the photo taken on a pink paper background, I think it’s quite an interesting colour combination.

iris photo colour palette
iris photo colour palette

Next colour palette swatches for the painting. In this class Renee was using oil paint, I don’t have any but I do have water mixable oil paints so I’m using them for the first time. They’re not as smelly as traditional oils though there is still some odour just not the awful turps and solvents.

iris swatch in water soluble oil
iris swatch in water soluble oil

After making the swatches there was a fair amount of paint left on the palette so I decided to take an iris out of the vase and paint it to use up the remaining pant (see image at the top of the post.)

It’s not perfect but considering I’ve never used oil paint before I’m calling this one a win.

Painting with oils is not my favourite thing, maybe I could use gouache as apparently they work is a similar way.

Thanks so much for taking the time to stop by.

Till next time, have fun x

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.